
CVE catalog
CVE-2025-24965
crun: CVE-2025-24965
- Severity
- High · CVSS 8.7
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:R/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:N - Published
- Source
- [NVD] · [CVE record]
- EPSS
- 0.58% · Oct 25, 2026
crun is an open source OCI Container Runtime fully written in C. In affected versions A malicious container image could trick the krun handler into escaping the root filesystem, allowing file creation or modification on the host. No special permissions are needed, only the ability for the current user to write to the target file. The problem is fixed in crun 1.20 and all users are advised to upgrade. There are no known workarounds for this vulnerability.
Vulnerable and fixed packages
Distribution-reported package versions and fixes. These do not depend on matching against the OpenFactory package catalog.
| Distribution | Package | Release | Version | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debian | crun | sid | 1.28-1 | not affected |
| Debian | crun | forky | 1.28-1 | not affected |
| Debian | crun | trixie | 1.21-1 | not affected |
| Debian | crun | bookworm | 1.8.1-1+deb12u1 | not affected |
| Suse | crun | linux micro 6.0 | 1.14-2.1 | fixed |
| Opensuse | crun | tumbleweed | 1.20-1.1 | fixed |
Fixed-version evidence
| Distribution | Package | Type | Release | Fixed version | Urgency | Origin | Bugs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debian | crun | source | sid | Not affected | unimportant | Not reported | Not reported |
| Debian | crun | source | forky | Not affected | unimportant | Not reported | Not reported |
| Debian | crun | source | trixie | Not affected | unimportant | Not reported | Not reported |
| Debian | crun | source | bookworm | Not affected | unimportant | Not reported | Not reported |
| Suse | crun | rpm | linux micro 6.0 | 1.14-2.1 | Not reported | SUSE-SU-2026:20452-1 | Not reported |
| Opensuse | crun | rpm | tumbleweed | 1.20-1.1 | Not reported | OPENSUSE-SU-2025:14763-1 | Not reported |
OpenFactory catalog packages
[openSUSE Tumbleweed]
[Debian 12 (Bookworm)]
- [crun]Not affected
Details (2)
1.8.1-1+deb12u1· amd64 · bookwormNot affected
dsa · crun · debian · bookworm
1.8.1-1+deb12u1· arm64 · bookwormNot affected
dsa · crun · debian · bookworm
Observed:
References
- [https://ftp.suse.com/pub/projects/security/csaf/opensuse-su-2025_14763-1.json]
- [https://osv.dev/vulnerability/SUSE-SU-2026:20452-1]
- [https://osv.dev/vulnerability/openSUSE-SU-2025:14763-1]
- [https://security-tracker.debian.org/tracker/CVE-2025-24965]
- [https://security.access.redhat.com/data/csaf/v2/vex/2025/cve-2025-24965.json]
[Debian Security Tracker] · [FIRST EPSS] · [OSV Package Vulnerability Database] · [Red Hat security advisories and VEX] · [SUSE security advisories and VEX]