
CVE catalog
CVE-2025-71330
image-size through 2.0.2 contains a denial of service vulnerability that allows remote attackers to permanently block the Node.js event loop by supplying a specially crafted ICNS image buffer. Attacke
- Severity
- High · CVSS 8.7
CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:N/UI:N/VC:N/VI:N/VA:H/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X - Published
- Source
- [NVD] · [CVE record]
- EPSS
- 0.43% · Oct 25, 2026
A flaw was found in image-size. A remote attacker can exploit this vulnerability by providing a specially crafted ICNS image buffer. This malicious buffer, containing valid magic bytes and a zero-valued entry length, causes an infinite loop in the ICNS parser. This can permanently block the Node.js event loop, leading to a denial of service (DoS) for the affected system. image-size: image-size: Denial of Service via crafted ICNS image buffer A flaw was found in the image-size npm package. A crafted ICNS image buffer with a zero-valued entry length field can trigger an infinite loop in the ICNS parser, permanently blocking the Node.js event loop and causing a denial of service. The CVSS score(s) listed for this vulnerability do not reflect the associated product's status, and are included for informational purposes to better understand the severity of this vulnerability.
Vulnerable and fixed packages
Distribution-reported package versions and fixes. These do not depend on matching against the OpenFactory package catalog.
| Distribution | Package | Release | Version | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | image-size | Not reported | Not reported | unknown |
| Npm | image-size | Not reported | 2.0.3 | fixed |
| Cpe | image-size | Not reported | Not reported | unknown |
Fixed-version evidence
| Distribution | Package | Type | Release | Fixed version | Urgency | Origin | Bugs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Npm | image-size | npm | Not reported | 2.0.3 | Not reported | GHSA-W3RX-R6R6-PGPR | Not reported |
OpenFactory catalog packages
No matching packages in this catalog.
Observed:
References
- [https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-w3rx-r6r6-pgpr]
- [https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2025-71330]
- [https://security.access.redhat.com/data/csaf/v2/vex/2025/cve-2025-71330.json]
[FIRST EPSS] · [GitHub Advisory Database] · [National Vulnerability Database (NVD)] · [OSV Package Vulnerability Database] · [Red Hat security advisories and VEX]