
CVE catalog
CVE-2026-26942
Dell PowerProtect Data Domain, versions 8.5 through 8.6 contain(s) an Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in an OS Command ('OS command injection vulnerability. A high privileged attacker
- Severity
- Medium · CVSS 6.7
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H - Published
- Source
- [NVD] · [CVE record]
- EPSS
- 0.88% · Oct 25, 2026
Dell PowerProtect Data Domain, versions 8.5 through 8.6 contain(s) an Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in an OS Command ('OS command injection vulnerability. A high privileged attacker with remote access could potentially exploit this vulnerability, leading to arbitrary command execution with root privileges.
Vulnerable and fixed packages
Distribution-reported package versions and fixes. These do not depend on matching against the OpenFactory package catalog.
| Distribution | Package | Release | Version | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | powerprotect_dp_series_appliance | Not reported | 2.7.9 | fixed |
| Cpe | data_domain_operating_system | Not reported | 8.6.1.0 | fixed |
| Cpe | powerprotect_dp_series_appliance | Not reported | 2.7.9 | fixed |
| Cpe | data_domain_operating_system | Not reported | 8.6.1.0 | fixed |
Fixed-version evidence
| Distribution | Package | Type | Release | Fixed version | Urgency | Origin | Bugs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | powerprotect_dp_series_appliance | cpe | Not reported | 2.7.9 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cpe | data_domain_operating_system | cpe | Not reported | 8.6.1.0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cpe | powerprotect_dp_series_appliance | cpe | Not reported | 2.7.9 | Not reported | NVD-CVE-2026-26942 | Not reported |
| Cpe | data_domain_operating_system | cpe | Not reported | 8.6.1.0 | Not reported | NVD-CVE-2026-26942 | Not reported |
OpenFactory catalog packages
No matching packages in this catalog.
Observed:
References
- [https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-26942]
- [https://wid.cert-bund.de/.well-known/csaf/white/2026/wid-sec-w-2026-1118.json]
- [https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/en-us/000450699/dsa-2026-060-security-update-for-dell-powerprotect-data-domain-multiple-vulnerabilities]
[CERT-Bund public advisories] · [FIRST EPSS] · [National Vulnerability Database (NVD)]