
CVE catalog
CVE-2026-33307
Mod_gnutls is a TLS module for Apache HTTPD based on GnuTLS. In versions prior to 0.12.3 and 0.13.0, code for client certificate verification imported the certificate chain sent by the client into a f
- Severity
- High · CVSS 7.5
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H - Published
- Source
- [NVD] · [CVE record]
- EPSS
- 0.35% · Oct 25, 2026
A flaw was found in mod_gnutls, a TLS module for Apache HTTPD. A remote attacker could exploit this vulnerability by sending a specially crafted client certificate chain to a server configured to use client certificates. This could lead to a buffer overflow due to the module not properly checking the length of the certificate chain against a fixed-size array. Successful exploitation would typically result in a denial of service (DoS) due to a server crash, and could theoretically lead to stack corruption. Red Hat Product Security has determined that this vulnerability does not affect any currently supported Red Hat product. This assessment may evolve based on further analysis and discovery. For more information about this vulnerability and the products it affects, please see the linked references. The CVSS score(s) listed for this vulnerability do not reflect the associated product's status, and are included for informational purposes to better understand the severity of this vulnerability.
Vulnerable and fixed packages
Distribution-reported package versions and fixes. These do not depend on matching against the OpenFactory package catalog.
| Distribution | Package | Release | Version | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | mod_gnutls | Not reported | Not reported | unknown |
| Ubuntu | mod-gnutls | 16.04 | 0.6-1.1 | vulnerable |
| Ubuntu | mod-gnutls | 16.04 | 0.7.3-0ubuntu1 | vulnerable |
| Ubuntu | mod-gnutls | 18.04 | 0.8.2-3ubuntu1 | vulnerable |
| Ubuntu | mod-gnutls | 20.04 | 0.8.2-3ubuntu1 | vulnerable |
| Ubuntu | mod-gnutls | 20.04 | 0.9.0-1.1ubuntu1 | vulnerable |
| Ubuntu | mod-gnutls | 22.04 | 0.9.0-1.1ubuntu1 | vulnerable |
Fixed-version evidence
OpenFactory catalog packages
No matching packages in this catalog.
Observed:
References
- [https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-33307]
- [https://osv.dev/vulnerability/UBUNTU-CVE-2026-33307]
- [https://security.access.redhat.com/data/csaf/v2/vex/2026/cve-2026-33307.json]
[FIRST EPSS] · [National Vulnerability Database (NVD)] · [OSV Package Vulnerability Database] · [Red Hat security advisories and VEX]