
CVE catalog
CVE-2026-34766
Electron is a framework for writing cross-platform desktop applications using JavaScript, HTML and CSS. Prior to versions 38.8.6, 39.8.0, 40.7.0, and 41.0.0-beta.8, the select-usb-device event callbac
- Severity
- Low · CVSS 3.3
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:L/I:L/A:N - Published
- Source
- [NVD] · [CVE record]
- EPSS
- 0.16% · Oct 25, 2026
A flaw was found in Electron. An attacker could influence an application's handler for the `select-usb-device` event to select a USB device ID outside of the filtered list. This could grant access to a USB device that was not intended by the application's security filters, potentially leading to unintended device interactions. The practical impact is limited to applications with unusual device-selection logic. Electron: Electron: Unauthorized USB device access via select-usb-device event callback validation bypass The CVSS score(s) listed for this vulnerability do not reflect the associated product's status, and are included for informational purposes to better understand the severity of this vulnerability.
Vulnerable and fixed packages
Distribution-reported package versions and fixes. These do not depend on matching against the OpenFactory package catalog.
| Distribution | Package | Release | Version | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | 38.8.6 | fixed |
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | 39.8.0 | fixed |
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | 40.7.0 | fixed |
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | Not reported | unknown |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 38.8.6 | fixed |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 39.8.0 | fixed |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 40.7.0 | fixed |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 41.0.0-beta.8 | fixed |
Fixed-version evidence
| Distribution | Package | Type | Release | Fixed version | Urgency | Origin | Bugs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | electron | cpe | Not reported | 38.8.6 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cpe | electron | cpe | Not reported | 39.8.0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cpe | electron | cpe | Not reported | 40.7.0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 38.8.6 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 39.8.0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 40.7.0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 41.0.0-beta.8 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
OpenFactory catalog packages
No matching packages in this catalog.
Observed:
References
- [https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-34766]
- [https://osv.dev/vulnerability/GHSA-9899-m83m-qhpj]
- [https://security.access.redhat.com/data/csaf/v2/vex/2026/cve-2026-34766.json]
[FIRST EPSS] · [National Vulnerability Database (NVD)] · [OSV Package Vulnerability Database] · [Red Hat security advisories and VEX]