
CVE catalog
CVE-2026-34768
Electron is a framework for writing cross-platform desktop applications using JavaScript, HTML and CSS. Prior to versions 38.8.6, 39.8.1, 40.8.0, and 41.0.0-beta.8, on Windows, app.setLoginItemSetting
- Severity
- Low · CVSS 3.9
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:L/A:L - Published
- Source
- [NVD] · [CVE record]
- EPSS
- 0.13% · Oct 25, 2026
A flaw was found in Electron. On Windows, when an application is installed to a path containing spaces and configured to open at login, the executable path is written to the system's Run registry key without proper quoting. An attacker with write access to an ancestor directory can exploit this to cause a different, malicious executable to run at login instead of the intended application, potentially leading to arbitrary code execution. Exploitation typically requires a non-standard installation location. electron: Electron: Arbitrary code execution via unquoted path in Run registry key The CVSS score(s) listed for this vulnerability do not reflect the associated product's status, and are included for informational purposes to better understand the severity of this vulnerability.
Vulnerable and fixed packages
Distribution-reported package versions and fixes. These do not depend on matching against the OpenFactory package catalog.
| Distribution | Package | Release | Version | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | 38.8.6 | fixed |
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | 39.8.1 | fixed |
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | 40.8.0 | fixed |
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | Not reported | unknown |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 38.8.6 | fixed |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 39.8.1 | fixed |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 40.8.0 | fixed |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 41.0.0-beta.8 | fixed |
Fixed-version evidence
| Distribution | Package | Type | Release | Fixed version | Urgency | Origin | Bugs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | electron | cpe | Not reported | 38.8.6 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cpe | electron | cpe | Not reported | 39.8.1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cpe | electron | cpe | Not reported | 40.8.0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 38.8.6 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 39.8.1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 40.8.0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 41.0.0-beta.8 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
OpenFactory catalog packages
No matching packages in this catalog.
Observed:
References
- [https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-34768]
- [https://osv.dev/vulnerability/GHSA-jfqx-fxh3-c62j]
- [https://security.access.redhat.com/data/csaf/v2/vex/2026/cve-2026-34768.json]
[FIRST EPSS] · [National Vulnerability Database (NVD)] · [OSV Package Vulnerability Database] · [Red Hat security advisories and VEX]