
CVE catalog
CVE-2026-34771
Electron is a framework for writing cross-platform desktop applications using JavaScript, HTML and CSS. Prior to versions 38.8.6, 39.8.0, 40.7.0, and 41.0.0-beta.8, apps that register an asynchronous
- Severity
- High · CVSS 7.5
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H - Published
- Source
- [NVD] · [CVE record]
- EPSS
- 0.29% · Oct 25, 2026
A flaw was found in Electron, a framework for building desktop applications. This vulnerability, known as a use-after-free, occurs when an application registers an asynchronous permission request handler and a frame navigates or a window closes while the handler is pending. A remote attacker could exploit this by causing the application to attempt to access freed memory. This could lead to a crash of the application or memory corruption, potentially allowing for further unauthorized actions. electron: Electron: Memory corruption or application crash via use-after-free in permission request handling The CVSS score(s) listed for this vulnerability do not reflect the associated product's status, and are included for informational purposes to better understand the severity of this vulnerability.
Vulnerable and fixed packages
Distribution-reported package versions and fixes. These do not depend on matching against the OpenFactory package catalog.
| Distribution | Package | Release | Version | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | 38.8.6 | fixed |
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | 39.8.0 | fixed |
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | 40.7.0 | fixed |
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | Not reported | unknown |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 38.8.6 | fixed |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 39.8.0 | fixed |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 40.7.0 | fixed |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 41.0.0-beta.8 | fixed |
Fixed-version evidence
| Distribution | Package | Type | Release | Fixed version | Urgency | Origin | Bugs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | electron | cpe | Not reported | 38.8.6 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cpe | electron | cpe | Not reported | 39.8.0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cpe | electron | cpe | Not reported | 40.7.0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 38.8.6 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 39.8.0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 40.7.0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 41.0.0-beta.8 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
OpenFactory catalog packages
No matching packages in this catalog.
Observed:
References
- [https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-34771]
- [https://osv.dev/vulnerability/GHSA-8337-3p73-46f4]
- [https://security.access.redhat.com/data/csaf/v2/vex/2026/cve-2026-34771.json]
[FIRST EPSS] · [National Vulnerability Database (NVD)] · [OSV Package Vulnerability Database] · [Red Hat security advisories and VEX]