
CVE catalog
CVE-2026-34773
Electron is a framework for writing cross-platform desktop applications using JavaScript, HTML and CSS. Prior to versions 38.8.6, 39.8.1, 40.8.1, and 41.0.0, on Windows, app.setAsDefaultProtocolClient
- Severity
- Medium · CVSS 4.7
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:H/A:N - Published
- Source
- [NVD] · [CVE record]
- EPSS
- 0.24% · Oct 25, 2026
A flaw was found in Electron, a framework for building desktop applications. On Windows, the `app.setAsDefaultProtocolClient()` function did not properly validate protocol names before writing to the system registry. This vulnerability could allow a local attacker, through an application that processes untrusted input, to write to arbitrary registry subkeys. Consequently, an attacker might be able to hijack existing protocol handlers, leading to unintended program execution or other system modifications. electron: Electron: Protocol handler hijacking via improper validation of protocol names The CVSS score(s) listed for this vulnerability do not reflect the associated product's status, and are included for informational purposes to better understand the severity of this vulnerability.
Vulnerable and fixed packages
Distribution-reported package versions and fixes. These do not depend on matching against the OpenFactory package catalog.
| Distribution | Package | Release | Version | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | 38.8.6 | fixed |
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | 39.8.1 | fixed |
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | 40.8.1 | fixed |
| Cpe | electron | Not reported | Not reported | unknown |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 38.8.6 | fixed |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 39.8.1 | fixed |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 40.8.1 | fixed |
| Npm | electron | Not reported | 41.0.0 | fixed |
Fixed-version evidence
| Distribution | Package | Type | Release | Fixed version | Urgency | Origin | Bugs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | electron | cpe | Not reported | 38.8.6 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cpe | electron | cpe | Not reported | 39.8.1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Cpe | electron | cpe | Not reported | 40.8.1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 38.8.6 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 39.8.1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 40.8.1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Npm | electron | npm | Not reported | 41.0.0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
OpenFactory catalog packages
No matching packages in this catalog.
Observed:
References
- [https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-34773]
- [https://osv.dev/vulnerability/GHSA-mwmh-mq4g-g6gr]
- [https://security.access.redhat.com/data/csaf/v2/vex/2026/cve-2026-34773.json]
[FIRST EPSS] · [National Vulnerability Database (NVD)] · [OSV Package Vulnerability Database] · [Red Hat security advisories and VEX]