CVE catalog

CVE-2026-39417

MaxKB is an open-source AI assistant for enterprise. Versions 2.7.1 and below contain an incomplete fix for CVE-2025-53928, where a Remote Code Execution vulnerability still exists in the MCP node of

[CVE catalog]

Severity
Medium · CVSS 4.6CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:L/I:L/A:L
Published
Source
[NVD] · [CVE record]
EPSS
0.24% · Oct 25, 2026

MaxKB is an open-source AI assistant for enterprise. Versions 2.7.1 and below contain an incomplete fix for CVE-2025-53928, where a Remote Code Execution vulnerability still exists in the MCP node of the workflow engine. MaxKB only restricts the referencing code path (loading MCP config from the database). The else branch, responsible for loading mcp_servers directly from user-supplied JSON remains completely unpatched. Since mcp_source is an optional field (required=False), an attacker can simply omit it or set it to any non-referencing value to bypass the fix. By calling the workflow creation API directly with a crafted JSON payload, an attacker can inject a complete MCP node configuration with stdio transport, arbitrary command, and args — achieving RCE when the workflow is triggered via chat. This issue has been fixed in version 2.8.0.

Vulnerable and fixed packages

Distribution-reported package versions and fixes. These do not depend on matching against the OpenFactory package catalog.

DistributionPackageReleaseVersionStatus
CpemaxkbNot reported2.8.0fixed
CpemaxkbNot reported2.8.0fixed

Fixed-version evidence

DistributionPackageTypeReleaseFixed versionUrgencyOriginBugs
CpemaxkbcpeNot reported2.8.0Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
CpemaxkbcpeNot reported2.8.0Not reportedNVD-CVE-2026-39417Not reported

OpenFactory catalog packages

No matching packages in this catalog.

Observed:

References