
CVE catalog
CVE-2026-53479
Dell PowerProtect Data Domain, versions 7.7.1.0…
Dell PowerProtect Data Domain, versions 7.7.1.0 through 8.7, LTS2026 release version 8.6.1.0 through 8.6.1.10, LTS2025 release version 8.3.1.0 through 8.3.1.30, LTS2024 release versions 7.13.1.0 through 7.13.1.70 contain an improper neutralization of special elements used in an OS command ('OS command Injection') vulnerability. A remote high privileged attacker could potentially exploit this vulnerability, leading to protection mechanism bypass. This is a Critical vulnerability as it allows an attacker to invoke arbitrary command execution with root privileges; so Dell recommends customers to upgrade at the earliest opportunity.
- Severity
- High · CVSS 7.2
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H - Published
- Source
- [NVD] · [CVE record]
- EPSS
- 1.97% · Oct 27, 2026
Reported versions and fixes
Each observation applies to its named package, distribution, and release. Distribution backports can fix a vulnerability while retaining an older upstream version number.
| Distribution / release | Package | Version | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UnknownRelease not reported | data_domain_operating_system | 7.13.1.80 | UnknownSource applicability is not established | Provider not reported |
| UnknownRelease not reported | data_domain_operating_system | 8.3.1.40 | UnknownSource applicability is not established | Provider not reported |
| UnknownRelease not reported | data_domain_operating_system | 8.6.1.20 | UnknownSource applicability is not established | Provider not reported |
| UnknownRelease not reported | data_domain_operating_system | 8.8.0.0 | UnknownSource applicability is not established | Provider not reported |
Provider details and historical evidence
| Distribution / release | Package | Version | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UnknownRelease not reported | data_domain_operating_system | 7.13.1.80 | UnknownSource applicability is not established | Provider not reported |
| UnknownRelease not reported | data_domain_operating_system | 8.3.1.40 | UnknownSource applicability is not established | Provider not reported |
| UnknownRelease not reported | data_domain_operating_system | 8.6.1.20 | UnknownSource applicability is not established | Provider not reported |
| UnknownRelease not reported | data_domain_operating_system | 8.8.0.0 | UnknownSource applicability is not established | Provider not reported |
Original provider fields
{
"package_releases": [],
"fixed_versions": [],
"distribution_packages": [
{
"name": "data_domain_operating_system",
"fixed_version": "7.13.1.80",
"applicability_unknown": true
},
{
"name": "data_domain_operating_system",
"fixed_version": "8.3.1.40",
"applicability_unknown": true
},
{
"name": "data_domain_operating_system",
"fixed_version": "8.6.1.20",
"applicability_unknown": true
},
{
"name": "data_domain_operating_system",
"fixed_version": "8.8.0.0",
"applicability_unknown": true
},
{
"name": "data_domain_operating_system",
"ranges": [
{
"fixed": "8.8.0.0",
"introduced": "8.7.0.0",
"last_affected": "",
"start_excluding": ""
}
],
"ecosystem": "cpe",
"provider_url": "https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-53479",
"fixed_version": "8.8.0.0",
"provider_source": "nvd",
"provider_record_id": "NVD-CVE-2026-53479",
"provider_updated_at": "2026-10-25T20:10:00.147"
}
]
}OpenFactory catalog packages
Matching against OpenFactory catalog package versions is in progress.
Observed:
References
- [https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-53479]
- [https://wid.cert-bund.de/.well-known/csaf/white/2026/wid-sec-w-2026-2189.json]
- [https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/en-us/000481268/dsa-2026-278-security-update-for-dell-powerprotect-data-domain-multiple-vulnerabilities]
[CERT-Bund public advisories] · [FIRST EPSS] · [National Vulnerability Database (NVD)]