CVE catalog

CVE-2026-6970

UBUNTU-CVE-2026-6970

[CVE catalog]

Severity
High · CVSS 7.3CVSS:4.0/AV:L/AC:L/AT:P/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X
Published
Updated
Source
[NVD] · [CVE record]
EPSS
0.11% · Oct 25, 2026

authd prior to version 0.6.4 contains a logic error in primary group ID assignment that can lead to local privilege escalation. When a user's primary group ID (GID) differs from their UID, either because the account was created with authd prior to version 0.5.4 or because the primary group was manually changed via the `authctl group set-gid` command, and the user's identity provider record is updated, authd incorrectly resets the user's primary group ID to their UID upon next login. This causes newly created files and directories to be owned by the wrong group, causing denial of service issues, and potentially granting unintended access to other local users and allowing local privilege escalation.

Vulnerable and fixed packages

Distribution-reported package versions and fixes. These do not depend on matching against the OpenFactory package catalog.

DistributionPackageReleaseVersionStatus
Ubuntuauthd26.040.5.11vulnerable
Ubuntuauthd26.040.6.1vulnerable
Ubuntuauthd26.040.6.1ubuntu0.1fixed

Fixed-version evidence

DistributionPackageTypeReleaseFixed versionUrgencyOriginBugs
Ubuntuauthddeb26.040.6.1ubuntu0.1Not reportedUBUNTU-CVE-2026-6970Not reported

OpenFactory catalog packages

No matching packages in this catalog.

Observed:

References