
CVE catalog
CVE-2026-8398
A supply chain attack compromised the official installation packages of DAEMON Tools Lite (Windows versions 12.5.0.2421 through 12.5.0.2434), distributed from the legitimate website daemon-tools.cc be
- Severity
- Critical · CVSS 9.3
CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:N/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X - Published
- Source
- [NVD] · [CVE record]
- Exploitation
- CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities
- EPSS
- 1.46% · Oct 25, 2026
Daemon Tools contains an unspecified vulnerability that has a high impact on confidentiality, integrity, and availability.
Vulnerable and fixed packages
Distribution-reported package versions and fixes. These do not depend on matching against the OpenFactory package catalog.
| Distribution | Package | Release | Version | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cpe | daemon_tools | Not reported | Not reported | unknown |
| Cpe | daemon_tools | Not reported | Not reported | unknown |
Fixed-version evidence
OpenFactory catalog packages
No matching packages in this catalog.
Observed:
References
- [https://blog.daemon-tools.cc/post/security-incident]
- [https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-8398]
- [https://securelist.com/tr/daemon-tools-backdoor/119654/]
- [https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog]
- [https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-8398]
[CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities (OSINT)] · [FIRST EPSS] · [National Vulnerability Database (NVD)]